Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/varnacu/varnasummerfest.org/old/participants_en_2.php:1) in /home/varnacu/varnasummerfest.org/old/participants_en_2.php on line 1

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/varnacu/varnasummerfest.org/old/participants_en_2.php:1) in /home/varnacu/varnasummerfest.org/old/participants_en_2.php on line 1
Международен музикален фестивал Варненско лято

Search in archive


Search for:

String Quartet Frosch

String Quartet Frosch was formed in 2007 in the city of Sofia.Since the beginning of its performing activity,the ensemble has participated annually in the concert series "The Soloists of the Radio" organized by the Bulgarian National Radio. The quartet has released recordings of compositions by P. Vladigerov, K. Iliev, D. Shostakovich, V. Kazandjiev, F. Schubert, H. Wolf, A. Schoenberg, A. Webern and M.Georgiev for the Bulgarian National Radio Recordings Fund.

The ensemble has taken part in the festivals Winter Music Evenings (Rousse), Ambul (Sofia 2009, 2011,2013), Sound and Relation (Sofia - 2009), Sofia Music Weeks (Sofia - 2010, 2011), March Music Days (Rousse - 2011), Chamber Music Days (Gabrovo - 2011), Apollonia Festival of Arts(Sozopol-2012), Musica Nordica da Camera (Sofia-2012) and New bulgariаn music(Sofia-annually).

In April 2008 the quartet was awarded a second prize at the International Competition for Austrian Chamber Music in Sofia. In December of the same year it won first prize at the Academic Chamber Music Competition dedicated to Marin Goleminov. The ensemble was among the nominated for the Crystal Lyre award in the Chamber Ensembles category for both 2010 and 2011.

Frosch have made the Bulgarian and world premieres of a number of compositions by George Crumb, Osvaldo Golijov, Steve Reich,Теrry Riley Rumen Balyozov, Alexander Radvilovich, Lyubomir Denev, Vassil Kazandjiev, Gheorghi Arnaoudov ,Synne Skouen,Peter Kerkelov, Martin Georgiev and V.Dikov. Some of the works have been written specifically for the ensemble.

Among the quartet's projects are the concert in Oslo Concert House in june 2012,dedicated to Bulgarian and Norwegian contemporary music and a concert with the komplete two string quartets and Fuga by E.Grieg in Sofia in november 2013. Frosch is also working to record the complete four string quartets by K. Iliev.

More: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Frosch-Quartet/386353258183936

Design by Marka Collectivе